Home / West Central / Bhopal
2018-04-12 12:31Bhopal

Bhopal Division West Central Railway

Bhopal railway division was formed on 1 April 1952 as part of then the Central Railway. It is the second largest division of West Central Railway in terms of route kms, employee strength and freight earning. It has total 95 stations of different categories. The important stations of this division are Bhopal Jn of A-1 category, Bina Jn, Hoshangabad, Itarsi Junction, Vidisha, Habibganj of A category and Guna, Ganjbasoda, Guna, Harda, Sanchi, Shivpuri of B category stations. Habibganj station of Bhopal is equipped with free Wi-fi facility and has been awarded with the Best Tourist Friendly Station Trophy of IR in 2015.

Total route and track kilometerage of Bhopal division are 1016 and 1921, respectively. This track is also supported by total 1587 bridges of all dimensions. The geographical extension of Bhopal division lies completely in the state of Madhya Pradesh and on the map of Indian Railways is Khandwa (excluding) - Itarsi double line electrified BG Sec.; Itarsi - Bina double line electrified BG Sec.; Bina - Guna single line electrified BG Sec.; Guna - Gwalior (excluding) single line non-electrified BG Sec.; Ruthiyai - Maksi (excluding) single line non-electrified BG Sec.

Some important ongoing works falling in Bhopal division are new lines on Ramganjmandi-Bhopal Sec. (262 Km.); doubling of Bina-Ruthiyai-Kota Sec. (282 Km.) and tripling project of Bina-Habibganj-Barkheda-Budni-Itarsi Sec.(total 242 Km). The foundation stone of Diesel Locomotive Traction Alternator Workshop has been laid in Vidisha of Bhopal division in 2015 for the purpose of indigenously manufacturing some important components to be used in Diesel Locomotives. Habibganj station has been chosen under Station Redevelopment Programme.

The division has an Electric Loco Shed, having the holding capacity of 189 locomotives for the maintenance of electric locomotives at Itarsi and a Diesel Loco Shed with capacity of 170 diesel locomotives at Itarsi. There are four Carriage and Wagon depots at Bhopal, Habibganj, Bina and Itarsi and one ROH depot at Itarsi for routine overhauling of carriages and wagons.

12 Mail/Express and 4 Passenger trains originate from Bhopal division. Itarsi Jn is the busiest operational point in the division for both passenger and good trains where a big Marshalling Yard facilitates large scale movement of trains by receiving, sorting, reforming and dispatching them. Itarsi Jn has stoppage of 330 trains daily. In FY 2015-16, total passenger and freight earnings of Bhopal division stood at 3535 cr and Rs. 997 cr, respectively. The main freight earning of Bhopal division is from fertilizer, POL and food grains which is loaded at Bina and Vijayapur sidings.

Postal Address of Bhopal Division:

Divisional Railway Manager
DRM's Office
Bhopal (M.P.)
Pin - 462024.

DRM Bhopal Twitter A/c - @Drmbhopal