Home / Central Railway / Mumbai Railway Division
2018-04-12 12:31Mumbai

Mumbai Division Central Railway

The story of the Railways on the Indian subcontinent started on 16th April, 1853, when the first train steamed out of Boribunder on way to Thane on the present Mumbai Division of Central Railway. The Division also holds the distinction of running the first electric train on Indian Railways on 3rd February, 1925 (on Harbour Line).

Starting from the Boribunder - Thane Section, the Railway net spread far and wide. In about a decade time, the route upto Pune was opened for traffic.

By 1865 the services on Mumbai- Igatpuri had also commenced.

Mumbai Division Geographical Details

LMumbai Division has 564.43 kms Route Kilometers which includes 20.29 RKM of Narrow Gauge (Neral - Matheran Section). The Division falls in the jurisdiction of Maharashtra State, serving civil Districts of Greater Mumbai, Thane, Raigad, Pune and Nasik. The Division serves the commercial, financial and industrial capital of the country viz Mumbai.

The suburban system of Mumbai is the life - line of the city. All Mail Express and Freight trains from North East and South East directions have to negotiate steep 1 in 37 gradients of Thal ghat and Bhor ghat respectively.

In addition to the above, Mumbai Division is also running the Narrow guage trains between Neral and Matheran a Hill station, also known as Matheran Light Railway, since 1907. This is a very popular tourist attraction.

Postal Address:

Divisional Railway Manager
Central Railway
Annex Building Ground Floor
Mumbai - CST
Pin - 400001.

Twitter - @drmmumbaicr