Home / Northern Railway / Ambala
2018-04-12 12:31Ambala

Ambala Division Northern Railway

The Ambala division is headed by Divisional Railway Manager (DRM). This Division is the newest member of the Northern Railway family. It was created o­n July 1, 1987 by transferring 639 kms from the Delhi Division and 348 kms from the Firozpur Division. Ambala became fully operational with effect from August 15, 1988. 62% of the Division is in Punjab while the remaining portion serves Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan and the Union territory of Chandigarh.

The division has 141 stations and includes the famous and picturesque Kalka-Shimla narrow-gauge section. Besides carrying prestigious passenger trains connecting Punjab with the rest of the country, the Division is an important freight handling center. Outward traffic includes food grains, fertilizer and cement. o­n an average, 1.6 lakh passengers are booked everyday.

Postal Address of Ambala Division:

Divisional Railway Manager
DRM Office, Ambala
Rail Vihar Colony
Near Kuldeep Nagar
Ambala Cantt

DRM Ambala Twitter A/c - @drmumb