Home / Northern Railway / Lucknow
2018-04-12 12:31Lucknow

Lucknow Division Northern Railway

The Lucknow division is headed by Divisional Railway Manger (DRM). O­n April 23, 1867, the 47 mile Lucknow-Kanpur section was opened for traffic. This became part of the Oudh Rohilkhand Railway. The present Lucknow division, in 1925 was part of East Indian Railway till 1952. It caters to the Rail transport requirement of the most populous state of the country, serving 13 districts of Uttar Pradesh, with a total route kilometer age of 1458.94, through 194 stations.

Lucknow's Charbagh Railway Station, till 1867, was a large orchard. The present Station building was constructed in 1926 with domes and minars of Saracan design, intended to harmonise with the architecture peculiar to the important historical buildings to the city which date to the days of the Nawabs of Oudh. The building constructed in red brick has a frontage of long verandahs adorned with Mughal arches.

Postal Address of Lucknow Division:

Divisional Railway Manager
Rail Niwas, 12-B.D.Marg
Bandaria Bagh
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.

DRM Lucknow Twitter A/c - @drmlko25